• Animals 2739386
  • Book 2929646 1920
  • Book 862492
  • Buckled Book 2180047
  • Narrative 794978
  • Library 425730 2

About

Having read the 300-page novel in one sitting, I fell into a stupor, as if I'd just finished watching something along the lines of Kubrick's The Shining. After awhile, associations began to suggest themselves: Kafka's The Castle and the steel-carcass labyrinth of Robbe-Grillet's novels, but without their existential overload, abbreviated to a slick thriller in the tradition of Roman Polanski and David Fincher. Undoubtfully Grjonko’s "The Building" is a genre literature, a superb horror novel. Yet if you abstract for a moment from the gripping plot, you reach another dimension and – strange as it may be - you no longer realize the genre limits and return into the reality of Kafka and Robbe-Grillet. Or rather into a very similar reality, but still different one – as if it existed on the same floor in one building. Downstairs Gustav Meirink, Leo Peruc and Edgar Poe live. And William Berrows occupies the basement.
Knizhnaya Vitrina (Book Review), Novosibirsk, Russia

News

December 15, 2018

We’re excited to announce that our new and refreshed website is live.

March 30, 2018

The fourth novel "Groundhog Times" was published by "The New Review" Literary Magazine, New York, US.

Reviews

Manus & Associates, Palo Alto, CA

I very much enjoyed The Building. In fact, it gets more interesting in many ways than either Gogol or Kharms. You have a very distinct-and Russian-style…
Christian Cummings
Manus & Associates, Palo Alto, CA

Vigliano Associates, New York

…I found the premise unique, and the writing (for the most part) rich and engaging. I also noted in your voice and characters a distinct existentialist quality – whether intentional or not, a bit reminiscent of 20th-century Russian literature in general, and Dostoyevsky's novels in particular.
Jason Sholl
Vigliano Associates, New York